Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a great place to start your research as they can provide basic background information on your topic, provide you with a timeline, help you to define key terms early on in your research, and further locate relevant research that may be contained in the bibliographies at the end of each entry.
Encyclopedic entries are often like articles or short essays that provide an in-depth discussion of topics. Specialized encyclopedias are particularly beneficial as they can provide information on unique topics.
Encyclopedia of Global Brands by Call Number: HD69.B7 E94 2013ISBN: 9781558622272Publication Date: 2013This Encyclopedia's two volumes highlight 269 of the most popular brands in the world. The brands covered represent products currently on the market, ranging from those whose branding history extends a century or more to newcomers who have quickly established their strength in the 21st-century global marketplace. Written in case-study style, each entry highlights interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Information related to marketing strategies and advertising campaigns are also included.
International Directory of Company Histories by Call Number: HD2731 .I58ISBN: 0912289104Publication Date: 1988-11-15This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Each 3-5 page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports and the archives of the companies themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions, NAIC codes, key dates, ticker symbol, principal subsidiaries, principal divisions, principal operating units, principle competitors and other significant milestones – all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players.
87 volumes at TMU.
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World: a Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs by ISBN: 1440838216Publication Date: 2017-10-05Electronic Encyclopedia: An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. Readers of this one-volume reference will gain useful knowledge of what travelers should and shouldn't do when in countries outside of the United States. After a general introduction, approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics such as greeting and meeting, appearance and dress, table manners, body language, social situations and hospitality, verbal communications, business etiquette, religious etiquette, gift-giving, and even "netiquette" regarding social media.
