Sociology of Food

(Southern Ontario squash harvest - Copyright: Sarah Elton)

The University Library subscribes to several databases that can be used to retrieve periodical articles on topics related to the Sociology of Food. Access to these databases is limited to TMU staff, students and faculty.

Sociology Database
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Sociological Abstracts

This database is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Produced by Sociological Abstracts, Inc., the database contains abstracts from 1,809 journals published since 1963 and enhanced bibliographic citations for dissertations added since 1986. Sociological Abstracts references journal articles, dissertations, book abstracts, chapter abstracts, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.

Alternative Press Index 
This database indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change, providing a comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Its scope is international and interdisciplinary providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Maximum 1 simultaneous user.

Defining Gender
This exciting collection of original source material from British and European archives will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations combine to address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.

SAGE Journals 
Full text access to more than 950 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

AnthroSource
This database is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of AAA, AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.

Statistics Canada has archived its older work on food here.