Primary Sources
Canadian Archive of Women in STEM. (University of Ottawa) - In collaboration with Library and Archives Canada and the Canadian Institute of Women in Engineering and Sciences (CIWES) (formerly INWES-ERI), the University of Ottawa Library - Archives and Special Collections is establishing a centre of expertise, for the benefit of current and future researchers, to document the history of women who have contributed to science, technology, engineering and mathematics in Canada.
The Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
The CWAHI was begun as a response to the absence of a national forum for discussion and research on historical women's art in Canada. Their mandate is three-fold: 1) Research: to promote research on a wide range of historical Canadian women artists, through conferences, workshops, research, and publications; 2) Documentation Centre: to support this research through the creation of paper files - the Documentation Centre is open to the public; 3) Online resources: these include an Artist Database and an Exhibition Reviews Database.
The Canadian Women's Movement Portal (University of Ottawa) a bilingual pan-Canadian inventory of archival materials available in heritage institutions across the country. Hosted by the UofO Library, the Portal supports researchers to locate archival collections that document the trajectory of feminist activism in Canada, since 1960. This new tool aims to make it easier to access archival materials, to showcase documentary heritage, and to strengthen collaboration from coast to coast. The development of the Portal is part of the larger Women's Archives initiative<https://www.
The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database
Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison.
For other collections available from Drama Online: Click here.
The Aurora Metro Books collection offers a highly contemporary list of new drama with a focus on women’s drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by black and Asian writers.
For other collections available from Drama Online: Click here.
Defining Gender This exciting collection of original source material from British and European archives will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations combine to address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.
HeinOnline's Women and the Law, is a database that brings together more than 3,200 books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to women’s roles in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides the ability to research the progression of women’s roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
Women and Social Movements in the US, 1600-2000
This collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender from Gale provides a significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Documenting First Wave Feminisms by Call Number: HQ1154 .D63 2012 6th floorISBN: 9780802091345Publication Date: 2012-01-14Contemporary feminists are used to juggling many different identities at once, balancing affiliations based on race, nation, class, and sexuality. First-wave feminists also negotiated--or failed to negotiate--similar tensions in their international organizing. Using primary documents dating from the abolitionist movement to the Second World War, Maureen Moynagh and Nancy Forestell investigate the tensions inherent in organizing early transnational feminist movements. Documenting First Wave Feminisms: Volume 1 provides a historical framework to bring together voices of women both canonical and less well known, from Mary Wollstonecraft to Mabel Dove, who were active in feminist movements in all corners of the world. Suffrage, imperialism, citizenship, sexuality, and moral reform are shown to be key issues in a variety of exchanges across North America, Europe, the global south, and the Pan-Pacific region. This source book is as nuanced as first-wave feminism itself and will prove a valuable resource for studying women's rights in an increasingly globalized world.
Defining gender, 1450-1910 : five centuries of advice literature onlineCall Number: PR149.M33 databaseBetween 2003 and 2007 Adam Matthew Publications will brought together over 50,000 images of original documents relating to gender studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford. In addition to documents and and search engine, the database includes contextual essays, biographies, a chronology and tips for instructors.
